mixing urbanism and oil?

Towards the end of fall semester, I’ll be giving a guest lecture to CFAN 3480 Oil and Water: The Gulf Oil Spill of 2010, being taught by my new acquaintance, Robert Gilmer. The plan is to have a joint session with my seminar, LA 4755/5755 Infrastructure, Natural Systems, and the Space of Inhabited Landscapes, and Robert’s class.

Normally, this wouldn’t be a big deal, but the oil and water course has been getting a bunch of national press (including Rush Limbaugh – see #7!!!!). So this is a chance to address a broader audience, as my talk may be open to the public.

So what should I talk about?

I’ve already posted about my researching the impact of the Mississippi River on the Gulf of Mexico – so that is one of the starting points. But I also want to tackle issues like how our cities/landscape drive oil consumption, and what post-oil cities will look like…

Your suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

[cross posted on archinect]
Leave a Reply

